01
Oct
12

September Foodie Penpal

Back in August, I came upon The Lean Green Bean, a blog about food and healthy living.  Lindsay has this wonderful program called Foodie Penpals.  You sign up, get matched with someone, and send that person $15 worth of fun foodie kind of stuff along with a written note.  Someone else gets your name so that we all meet more people.  I thought to myself that this would be a fun way to spread my new-found love of food from the Farmer’s Market.  So, now:

The Lean Green Bean

By odd coincidence, I was paired up with two people from BC. Kendall from The Green Cat lives in North Vancouver. I sent Hayley in Delta a package of Alberta-made goodies.  I think it’s a sign that I’m supposed to move back to Vancouver as soon as I can.  I love the treats I got from Kendall.  Just from reading through her blog, I can tell that she’s a way healthier eater than me.  She has some great recipes that I want to try out soon, especially one that isn’t on her blog yet…

Look at the amazing stash of goodies from Kendall!

Doesn’t it all look great?!  The funny thing is that she sent it in a box that said Vibram FiveFingers on it.  It sure had all my co-workers excited and me confused when I got paged that my FiveFingers has arrived!  (On a side note, I’ve been curious about Vibram shoes for a while.  Maybe this is a sign that I should get a pair.)

I love the cute little boxes of pasta.  They kinda remind me of the little cereal boxes my parents would buy for us kids when we went on camping trips.  And I like how they’re both in cute little shapes 🙂

The snack bars and sesame bars are perfect for my walks around town so that I don’t fall for the fast food or coffee shop temptation.

I don’t know how Kendall knew, but I absolutely LOVE chai.  It’s one of the main themes of my Steepster account.  And vanilla nut creme tea sounds amazing.

My absolute fave in the package were the cookies!  They were incredibly delicious!! I admit that I ate every last crumb out of that bag.  And did you notice her note?  She made up the recipe for me.  How sweet is that?  Here’s a better shot of the recipe:

So once I get the ingredients together, I’m making more of these wonderful goodies.

I wish I had thought to take a photo of the package I sent to Hayley.  I don’t think she has a blog.  I sent her a jar of lemon honey from Nixon Honey in Innisfail, a bottle of hot sauce called Alberta Crude from Calgary, some snack bars from High River that I found at Nutters Bulk and Natural Foods (which is probably where I’ll find the ingredients for my cookies), and a bar of Red Jasmine Rice soap which is neither food nor from Alberta but it smelled really good.

This was really fun, and I’m definitely participating again.  Check out the Foodie Penpal link above or below if you want to participate 🙂

The Lean Green Bean

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2012.


10 Responses to “September Foodie Penpal”


  1. 2012/10/02 at 1:34 am

    Glad you got some treats in with the healthy stuff 😀

  2. 2012/10/02 at 4:26 am

    Yum, yum, yum! You got an excellent package of treats to try out. It’s fun to go outside of your comfort zone with foods, huh? Yey! Pumped for October!

  3. 2012/10/02 at 8:52 pm

    That’s a great package and that cookie recipe looks delicious!!

  4. 2012/10/03 at 8:28 pm

    Isn’t foodie penpals great? I live about 4 hours from Calgary – where could I pick up some of the Alberta Crude? Seems like something one of us lotusland-dwelling yoga addicts in BC should keep in the fridge 🙂

    • 2012/10/07 at 12:00 am

      I got the Alberta Crude at Housewarmings in Red Deer. I’m not sure who produces it though. I’ll swing by the store when I’m back from my work trip and let you know who it is.

  5. 2012/10/22 at 10:02 pm

    Just made the cookies (sort of… I couldn’t get chia seeds) and they are so good!

    • 2012/10/23 at 8:11 pm

      The part with the chia seeds confuses me a bit. Do they expand in water? I haven’t tried the recipe yet because I still have to go buy the ingredients. Plus I can’t share them at work because one guy has a nut allergy; I don’t want to give myself an excuse to eat a whole batch of cookies by myself!


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 428 other subscribers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.