12
Oct
15

Happy Thanksgiving!

IMG_3083

“Children’s Dress-up Dance” Fountain by Ralph Hicks (Creemore, Ontario)

Another Thanksgiving…another opportunity to think about what we are each grateful for in our lives. My day has been a roller coaster of emotions that I’m still trying to sort out. A year ago,

IMG_7455my Little Miss Autumn passed away.  In the days leading up to today, I have been very aware that this would be a difficult day.  I was out of town for Thanksgiving weekend, celebrating with family, excited about the upcoming move to a new city and starting a new job.  I came home Monday afternoon, and she was already gone.  The devastation of coming home to a deceased pet is something that will never leave me.  The guilt about being away, the horror of not knowing what to do.  Even today, getting ready to go out to a friend’s for a Thanksgiving meal, I had the irrational fear that I couldn’t leave Kalea in the apartment by herself.

What I really wanted to do today was curl up in bed and wallow.  But, I have good friends that wouldn’t let me do that.  And so the first thing I am grateful for are my friends.  My first Thanksgiving in Edmonton was fun – a quiet affair that was just right for my frame of mind.  Good food (amazing Yorkshire pudding!), good company.  It was a chance to start the week off on a happier note than what I was anticipating.

IMG_0008I am also grateful for the new circumstances I am now enjoying.  A year ago, it was too hard to appreciate the move.  I had to pack all my things while still working and dealing with my grief and worrying about Spotacus.  This fall, I’m seeing the beauty of the season here in Edmonton that I wasn’t able to fully enjoy back then.  This past year, I got to see more of my adopted city, and for reasons you’ll read about in a minute, I am becoming more comfortable with what I have to admit was not my first, or even second, choice of places to move to.

I am grateful for the new job that I started mid-August.  Yes, I know that I said I started a new job last October.  An amazing opportunity came up to be a trainer again, and I just had to apply.  The subjects are all optometry based, so closer to my own background, and the travel will be half of what I was doing before.  I have been so happy over the last 2 months, learning to work from home and getting back into the groove of public speaking.  More importantly, I feel like I’m finally settling into my circumstances.  I don’t feel like I’m in limbo, wanting to move back to Vancouver, wanting something better in my life.  The moment I finally changed my phone number from 778 to 780 was the moment that I realized that I’m starting to make this place home.

IMG_2133So, I’m extremely grateful for Lady Kalea von Fluffypants for her role in making this place home.  She may drive me bonkers while I’m trying to work from home, but she is a great companion.  She keeps the loneliness at bay, and provides endless amounts of amusement with her addiction to chewing cardboard boxes and her apparent predilection for falling off couches and desks while sleeping in her bed.  I am very grateful for my friend Sly who comes by to watch Kalea while I’m away on training trips.  The guilt and fear about what happened to Autumn and Spotacus still weigh heavily on me, and her help has gone a long way in easing those worries.  Kalea is well loved, and I think she returns the sentiment.

I feel that I need to spend more time remembering to be grateful, and to focus on the good things that are happening in my life now.  I’m going to revive the 100 Happy Days project to kickstart a more positive outlook (and to get me back into blogging regularly).  I hope you will join me in this new journey.

October 12, 2015
© All rights reserved, missmylin 2015

0 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

