14
Apr
15

Meet the new furbaby

I was incredibly lonely after Spotacus passed away. For the first time in 15 years, I was truly living alone. Before I adopted Autumn, I had roommates. When the roommates moved on, I had the cats. It was so quiet. I hated being alone with my thoughts.

I had moved from Red Deer to Edmonton 5 days beforehand. I could keep myself busy with unpacking, but everything reminded me of my missing kitties. I hadn’t even unpacked Spot’s box yet. I was hearing people tell me that I needed time to grieve and get used to the idea they were gone. I was hearing other people tell me that I should get another pet right away. To be honest, I was confused and torn. There was no way I could replace Autumn and Spot; however, I couldn’t deal with the loneliness of a new apartment in a new city.

"I don't know if you are ready or even interested but I do know of a 2 yr old kitty looking for a home."

“I don’t know if you are ready or even interested but I do know of a 2 yr old kitty looking for a home.”

“I know you would give her a good home and thought of you first….I know its hard to think about and I will understand if your not ready yet.”

A friend reached out to me over facebook a few days later with those words.  I sat on that message for days.  Was it disloyal to even entertain the idea of a new pet?  Each passing day made me more curious.  All I knew was that she had been living in a home where another cat was beating her up, so she needed somewhere safe.  Eventually I asked to see a photo.  I fell in love.  A couple of weeks later, I drove down to Red Deer and brought her home.

It turns out that this little kitty has moved a lot in her 2 year life.  There were 4 homes before me.  None of it was her fault.  Like me, she was just looking for somewhere to belong.  If I was still in my former job, I wouldn’t have been able to make the commitment to her.  All the traveling and the time away from Autumn and Spot will always be a source of guilt for me.  My new job though meant that I would be home with this new companion.

Lady Kalea

Lady Kalea

I gave her a new name.  She was Halo, but that held no meaning for me, and more importantly, she didn’t answer to it at all.  It took about a week to find the right name: Kalea.  It’s a Hawaiian name meaning “full of joy”, “happiness” or “bright”.  Kalea has brought me so much joy after so much sadness and grief.  She really is the bright point in my life.  She is clever and mischievous.  She is incredibly affectionate.  I had forgotten how much a young cat can keep me on my toes.  I have come home to an empty sock drawer and sock balls all over the bedroom floor.  I have woken up to yarn all over the living room.  And you know what?  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Kalea and I met at a time when we needed each other.  As one of my friends put it, I’m not sure who actually rescued who, but we are both much better off with the other.

The first photo of Kalea and I together November 23, 2015

The first photo of Kalea and I together
November 23, 2015

My best friend said, shortly after Spotacus passed away, that she knew I would get another cat.  She said that I had too much love in my heart to not share it.  She was right.  Kalea snuck her way into my heart from the moment I heard her story.  I still think about Autumn and Spot.  But Kalea isn’t rewriting their stories; she’s a new chapter.

April 14, 2015
© All rights reserved, missmylin 2015

0 Responses to “Meet the new furbaby”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

