19
May
14

100 Happy Days Challenge: Day 49

Being a plus size runner

I’m pretty sure I must look a little silly when I run.  I’m not fast nor graceful.  I’m not quite at the point where I can say I enjoy running, but I do look forward to my runs and continually hope that this will be the run where I finally make it to 5K in less than an hour.

I want to look relatively put together on my runs.  The problem is that there isn’t a lot of choice out there for plus size running gear.  There’s even less for short, plus size runners like me.  I’ve been making do with yoga capris and Old Navy tank tops since I started in August.  Today, I finally bought a pair of compression capris.  The people in the facebook running groups I belong to tell me that this will make it more comfortable for me during my runs.  However, I’m definitely not comfortable with the way I look in compression pants…so I also got a running skirt.  I had no idea these existed until it came up in the facebook group.

When I took this picture, I was feeling very self-conscious.  It seemed like a good idea in the store, but seeing myself in my bedroom mirror made me feel ridiculous.  I’ve never seen anyone actually run in a skirt.  But, I gathered up my courage and went out.  And, once I got into today’s Zombies, Run! mission, I didn’t care about how I looked.  The point was that I was comfortable, and I had a good run: 4.62 km in 52 minutes.  Not quite the 5K I want, but close!

May 19, 2014
© All rights reserved, missmylin 2014

0 Responses to “100 Happy Days Challenge: Day 49”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

