06
Oct
13

Zombies Run! Post Civilization Challenge

Zombies Run! Post Civilization is a Facebook group I joined with fellow Zombies, Run! Fans.  This week’s challenge was to run a brand new route and report back our findings.  So here it goes…

It’s a strange feeling…running through areas that were once full of life. I’ve started my last week of training to become a runner for Gaetz Lakes township. I lived here in the city before the outbreak. I remember hating every minute of it, and wanting desperately to go back to the big city. But I guess there’s a reason for everything, because when the zombie outbreak happened, it hit the big cities first. It gave cities like mine a fighting chance to prepare and protect ourselves. Red Deer ended up splitting up into townships: small groups of survivors staking out some territory and trading with other townships to survive.

ACR TrailMy job today was primarily training, but no training run goes to waste so I was instructed to head towards the hospital to find medical supplies.  I suppose I could have run through the deserted streets, among the abandoned cars and smashed out store fronts.  But, whenever I can, I take to the old running trails.  I much prefer to see trees. Peter, Runner 10, thinks I’m crazy to run the trails.  “What if the zoms come crashing through the woods,” he asks.  But good ol’ Sam at the comm, he understands.  He keeps me safe and will only approve a trail if the zoms are off in the distance.

ACR TrestleI ran the old Alberta Central Railway trail today.  The sun was up, and it was a warm fall afternoon.  You could almost forget that we were living in an apocalypse.  The cement trestle that used to be part of the railway is a popular resting point for runners where we can exchange information and pass messages to nearby townships.  There was no one there today, but a message was posted to watch for a new Zombie strain called Mortis that was affecting animals as well as humans.  I must let everyone know back at the township.

Chaq's CornerRemember when we used to have public art everywhere? And people would debate whether it’s art or not? Seems all so silly now. The city used to have tons of these things around. I’m kinda surprised this is still standing; it’s gotta be worth a lot in scrap steel.  The plaque is still legible: “Chaq’s Corner” by Ken Macklin.  Maybe we aren’t so far gone yet that we still cling to the things that make us human, like art.  Or maybe no one’s figured out how to break this thing apart yet.  It’s only a matter of time I suppose, for either scenario to fall through.

HospitalMade it to the hospital in good time. It’s pretty much picked over, but I found a few first aid kits in the morgue. Guess no one had thought to look in there. I also grabbed some blankets from a storage closet down there. It’s getting cold now that fall is here. Who knows how many of us are going to be able to survive the first winter of this plague? I wish I could grab more blankets. I’ll get Sam to send more people here ASAP. I found a bottle of water, still sealed, in a desk drawer. Downed that pretty quick.  Same drawer had a bottle of aspirin – bonus!

Waskasoo CreekI’m not sure how this is going to turn out for any of us. When I’m out on the trails, I cling to the hope that someone will find a cure for this virus. I look at the changing leaves and hope that someday I can run again for fun instead of survival. The few birds that still sing their song remind me that life still continues to thrive in the midst of this insanity. To all the runners out there, don’t give up hope. While we’re out there running to keep our townships alive, someone has got to be out there working to keep humanity alive.

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2013

3 Responses to “Zombies Run! Post Civilization Challenge”


  1. 2013/10/06 at 10:19 pm

    In real life, 4.87 km in 54 minutes. So close to the 5 km mark!

  2. 2013/10/07 at 8:03 am

    Peter’s right–that trail through the woods looks dangerous! I can just imagine a zom looming out of the brush, reaching to grab you as you run by…. Funny how beautiful the world can still be in our post-apocolyptic times.

  3. 3 cindiaugustine
    2013/10/09 at 9:14 pm

    Love this. You’re a great writer. Please keep adding to it. I want to know what happens!


Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

