03
Oct
13

Project 365 – Day 272

Filipino Feast

Feast!

Now that’s a feast!  It was my cousin’s birthday party, and no Filipino party is complete without tons and tons of food.  It’s especially great for me because I seldom cook Filipino food for myself.  Almost all the dishes are made to serve lots of people, so unless I feel like eating the same dish for 2 weeks straight, I’m resigned to eating some of my favourite dishes only when I visit family.

Lumpia Shanghai - the best finger food ever

Lumpia Shanghai – the best finger food ever

There is always some kind of fish at a Filipino party.

There is always some kind of fish at a Filipino party.

Bicol Express is a specialty dish from my Dad's region of the Philippines.  My cousin made this version particularly spicy!

Bicol Express is a specialty dish from my Dad’s region of the Philippines. My cousin made this version particularly spicy!

I love prawns, but I rarely eat them at a party because it's so messy to remove the shells.

I love prawns, but I rarely eat them at a party because it’s so messy to remove the shells.

Pancit usually shows up at birthday parties because eating the long noodles is a wish for a long life.

Pancit usually shows up at birthday parties because eating the long noodles is a wish for a long life.

I think this was a chicken and ham roll-up type dish.

I think this was a chicken and ham roll-up type dish.

Another great Filipino noodle dish

Palabok: another great Filipino noodle dish

The pièce de résistance - lechon, a whole roasted pig, is the national dish of the Philippines

The pièce de résistance – lechon, a whole roasted pig, is the national dish of the Philippines

Leche flan is one of my favourite desserts.  It's a heavier version of crème caramel.

Leche flan is one of my favourite desserts. It’s a heavier version of crème caramel.

I absolutely love turon.  It's like lumpia, but it's filled with saba banana and jackfruit, and it's coated in caramelized sugar.  Delicious!

I absolutely love turon. It’s like lumpia, but it’s filled with saba banana and jackfruit, and it’s coated in caramelized sugar. Delicious!

Filipinos love their sweets, and a lot of desserts are some form of sweetened rice cake.

Filipinos love their sweets, and a lot of desserts are some form of sweetened rice cake.

And no birthday is complete without a cake!  Can you guess what my cousin's hobby is?

And no birthday is complete without a cake! Can you guess what my cousin’s hobby is?

Bonus pic: This is part of breakfast the day before.  It's steamed taro, which I had never had before.  You cut a piece and dip it in sugar. Quite tasty.

Bonus pic: This is part of breakfast the day before. It’s steamed taro, which I had never had before. You cut a piece and dip it in sugar. Quite tasty.

September 29, 2013

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2013

0 Responses to “Project 365 – Day 272”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

