22
Sep
13

Project 365, and how I’m losing steam when I’m in the home stretch

Okay, maybe it’s a poor running analogy.  But those of you who have been following my blog since January may have noticed that the posts aren’t coming as regularly as before, and that there are many more gaps in my days.  I want to keep up and finish this project, but the reality is…

…that I’m losing my perspective on things.  I started this project as a way to show people how I see the world.  It’s not the fancy photography that I enjoy creating on occasion; I wanted this to be about the random things I see and the thoughts I have.

quoteThose of you who use WordPress know that when you post, there’s a quote on the side.  This one rang true to me today because my posting has become a struggle against a silence that is threatening to engulf me again.

I started this blog 3 years ago to give myself a voice.  I never really expected anyone to read or follow it.  But, I needed an outlet for all the thoughts that I keep bottled up inside.  Sometimes the thoughts came out in prose, sometimes in photos.  I have spent too many years believing that what I have to say doesn’t matter to anyone.  I wanted to prove to myself that it does matter…that I matter.

Dusk

Dusk during my run today

But, I’m doubting myself these days.  I’m so preoccupied with a number of things that are eating up the peace and happiness I should be feeling right now.  For example, I had made a goal on July 3rd to be a certain weight by the end of summer.  The end of summer is today, I met my goal, and I feel nothing.  I spent most of yesterday and today hiding out in bed, and it took everything in me to go out and do something this afternoon.

Have you heard of Boggle the Owl?  It’s a great blog, and recently, Boggle’s posts have hit close to home.

Boggle the Owl

So, this is a bit of a long-winded way to say that I’m not seeing the world in quite the right light these days, which means that my Project posts lag behind.  I will get through this though.  And I will do my best to keep up Project 365 and see it to the end on December 31.

The Boggle comic belongs to Boggle at http://boggletheowl.tumblr.com/

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2013

4 Responses to “Project 365, and how I’m losing steam when I’m in the home stretch”


  1. 1 Erin B
    2013/09/23 at 8:01 am

    Hugs! I know that wall. It’s a bitch.

  2. 2013/09/23 at 7:12 pm

    I know that wall too. Some days it’s not right in front of me (but still threatens to pop out of the ground, which is almost worse than it being there), others it’s a mile high, but most of the time, it’s not too tall so I’m able to climb over it and get on with the day.

  3. 2013/09/23 at 9:32 pm

    A great big hug to you. You have a great voice and I am glad I have the privilege to hear it. Your friendship is so important to me, and your words of encouragement, support and understanding mean a lot to me. I may not see the wall but I believe 100% that you experience it, and sharing the struggle is a courageous thing to do and can only help tear the wall down. (Hugs)


Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

