31
Jul
13

July Foodie Penpal

The Lean Green Bean

After a bit of a hiatus, it’s time for another Foodie Pen Pals post. This month, I sent a package to Deborah in Mississauga. If you want to see what I sent to her check out her blog Gourmetmom.  She has awesome recipes on there, by the way.

I received a great package of treats from Sarah in London.  I took my package with me to the Rec Centre, and after my workout, I used the landscaping in front as the backdrop for my photos, hee, hee.

July FPP package

Magazine Let’s start with the magazine, because as Sarah says, who doesn’t love Hugh Jackman? In addition to an interesting article on him, I really enjoyed the articles on summer beauty lifesavers and all the health & exercise articles. They fit in well with the changes I’m trying to make.  AND, there’s a whole page dedicated to making ice cream sliders 🙂

GranolaGranola!  I’m so happy!!  I fell in love with homemade granola when Melissa sent some to me last April.  And now I have a new stash to ration out, woo hoo!  You would think it would be incentive for me to learn how to make my own, but it’s like sandwiches.  They taste better when someone else makes them.

Hot cereal At first, I thought these were packets of hot chocolate. On closer inspection (as in take them out of the pretty packaging), they’re hot cereal packs with whole grain oats and flaxseed. Chocolate cereal – how awesome is that? I can even say it’s healthy for me.  Someday, I’ll tell you guys about tsampurado, Filipino chocolate rice porridge. It sounds weird, but it’s some Good Stuff, trust me!

Pineapple

I do have trust issues with fresh pineapple.  One bite can be as sweet as can be, then the next bite is mouth-puckering tart.  I’ve never tried dried pineapple before.  I really like it.  Sweet with just a hint of tartness.  Plus it’s all natural and fair trade.

Thank you so much Sarah for the thought and effort you put into this FPP package.  You took into account that I’m trying to eat healthier, you noticed my chocolate weakness, and you sent me Hugh Jackman.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

The Foodie Penpals program is lots of fun. I could explain all the rules to you, but they’re already all laid out. (Yay for copy and paste.) The program is run by Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean, a blog about food and healthy living. If you’re interested, click on the FPP logo at the beginning of this post or the link down below 🙂

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal! 
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month. 
-Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian & European residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. Same with Europeans. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. 

If you’re from the US or Canada and are in participating for August, please CLICK HERE (www.theleangreenbean.com/foodie-penpals/) to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions. 

You must submit your information by August 4th as pairings will be emailed on August 5th!

*If you’re from Europe, please CLICK HERE (www.thisisrocksalt.com/foodie-penpals/) to signup.

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2013.

1 Response to “July Foodie Penpal”


  1. 2013/08/01 at 5:55 pm

    Homemade granola is super easy to make. I made it for the first time last month to send to my pen pal and it was so rewarding, especially when I heard she loved it. Give it a try sometime!


Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

