25
Aug
12

Saturday morning projects: taking over the crochet-along

Today’s SMP post is a little different.  Earlier this year, one of my best friends Jamie started a wonderful crochet-along.  We were all crocheting along quite happily.  But life got in the way as it always does.  Jamie was a new mom and busy with all that comes with a newborn girl.  I was going through a lot of changes at work and at home.  Recently, I asked what was going on with the project.   Jamie is going back to work as a Grade 2 teacher which obviously leaves her too busy to continue hosting the project.  I’m going to do my best to pick up where she left off so that we all have a wonderful blanket for this coming winter.  (Particularly for me, having to live through my first prairie winter since I was 17 years old.)

The 9 squares of the crochet-along so far

I’m using:
– Bernat Satin (Bordeaux, Grey Mist Heather and Stone)
– 5.0 mm (H) crochet hook

There was never any rule on what yarn to use, so use this as an excuse to work through some of your yarn stash, or get your favourite worsted-weight or #4 yarn like I did.  I like things to be matchy-matchy.

Here are the links to the first 9 patterns we’ve done so far:

Square #1
Square #2
Square #3
Square #4
Square #5 (I’m not entirely sure why I can’t find the blog post for this week, but the link goes straight to the Ravelry page for the pattern)
Square #6
Square #7
Square #8
Square #9

Due to my own work schedule, I am going to change it to every 2 weeks. It will give us all time to get through the squares (and allow those of you who are hopefully going to join now a bit of catch up time).  I will do my best to stay on schedule, but my job involves a lot of traveling so there may be times where I forget in the midst of the madness.  I apologize in advance for any such lapses.

Like Jamie, I would love to see and post the work that everyone is doing.  If you want me to add a picture of your square to the show and tell posts, please send an email of your picture along with your name or nickname to crochet_along@yahoo.ca.  For those of you who are already doing the crochet-along, this is the same address as before.

Alright, now that all the groundwork is laid out…time for square #10.

I really like to challenge myself, and this square looks challenging. Click on the photo to go to the pattern’s page.  This is a 6″ square, while the squares for this project are 12″; this means you’re going to have to be a bit creative (kinda like what we did with Square 2).  Are you going to make more circles?  Or maybe expand on the simple border?  I’m interested in seeing what we all come up with.  If you can please send your photos by September 5 so I can prep the next post, that would be awesome.

Leave a comment below to let me know who’s participating. See you in a couple of weeks 🙂

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2012.

5 Responses to “Saturday morning projects: taking over the crochet-along”


  1. 2012/08/26 at 10:28 pm

    Oof! I picked a bit of a doozy. The instructions are a bit confusing because the photos show more fastening off than is needed. Let me know if you need help.
    Also, if you want to create a 3rd round of circles, the starting chain is 121. Follow the same instructions for the 2nd row, but you will make 4 half-circles instead of 2.

  2. 2 Amanda
    2012/08/28 at 11:37 am

    I’m planning on continuing with this. Hopefully I can catch up with the other ones I haven’t done.
    Thanks for keeping it going!

    Amanda aka @MrsShmexy


Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 422 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

