22
Feb
12

Day 19: A list of all the places you’ve lived at

Well, how apt is this?  I’m in my hometown right now for another workshop.  Today, my dad took me on a drive around Regina to show me what has changed and what is still the same.

For the first month of my life, I lived in the neonatal intensive care unit at Regina General Hospital.  I was supposed to be born September 21, but I decided to make my appearance on July 24.

When I was allowed to come home, I lived in the Glencairn area in East Regina.  My family lived there until I was 5.  I have vague memories of the layout of the house.  I remember the marigolds in the front yard.  Today, I asked my dad to drive by the old house, and I took the picture below.

The next 13 years were spent in a house on Bolen Bay in the Wood Meadows area of Regina. Whenever I dream about my childhood, this is the house in my dreams. My maternal lola lived with us until she passed away. My room was plastered with New Kids on the Block posters. The basement had very pale blue walls. So many memories, and not enough time to write it all here. I wish I had a photo of the house to show you. Maybe I’ll ask if someone can drive by there on the weekend.

From there, I moved into Place Vanier residence at UBC. My first time away from my family, my first time living on my own (sort of). I stayed one year in Mawdsley House, and the next year in Hamber House. Those were interesting times, a time where I wasn’t really grown up but wasn’t really a kid anymore. My last move at UBC was to the Thunderbird residences, where I was finally in an apartment-style place and I learned to take care of myself.

I now live in downtown Vancouver, in a highrise condo building. And while I sometimes get itchy to move, especially when I feel like there’s too much space in my place for just me, I don’t see myself moving anytime soon. I enjoy the energy of downtown, and it’s the perfect spot to be when I don’t own a car. Everything I need is either in the downtown area or easily accessible by transit.

Home Sweet Home

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2012.

0 Responses to “Day 19: A list of all the places you’ve lived at”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 422 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

