02
Feb
12

Day 2 (part 2) – 10 dislikes

I’ll bet that I’m a lot faster at writing this than yesterday’s post.  (Mainly because I don’t have as many photos to represent my dislikes!)

Dislike #1: Waiting for the bus

(Hey look at that, I do have a photo for this one!) Yeah, yeah, I know it’s a necessary evil when I don’t own a car.  And for the most part, I don’t mind the fact that I rely on transit to get around.  But at 7:30 AM, when all I want to do is sleep in a little bit more, the thought of trudging over to the bus stop, waiting in line, and wrangling to get a seat seems like a waking nightmare.  Somehow, it just does not appeal to me.

Dislike #2: Rude people

I work with the public every day.  And generally, my patients are wonderful people who appreciate the effort I put into fitting their contact lenses and explaining what’s going on with their eye health.  There is always that segment of the population, however, that feels entitled to get their own way no matter what.  Why is it that the loudest, most obnoxious people get what they want?  It’s so stupid that we bend over backwards for these people so that they don’t raise a stink, or give us a bad review, or threaten to sue, or whatever other scare tactic they care to dream up.  As time goes on, I have less and less tolerance for such childishness, but I still have to smile and find a compromise.  😦

Dislike #3: Cooking dinner for one

See that photo over there? That was my dinner tonight…my version of a Filipino dinner!!  Okay, in my defense, I missed my stupid bus after work and by the time I got home, I was too tired to even contemplate cooking.  But, I always seem to be too tired to cook after work.  I used to love trying out new recipes, making a nice meal.  Over the years, it became silly for me to put in all that effort.  Once in a while I do something nice for myself; at Christmas I made beef stroganoff for the first time.  Very yummy by the way.  Standard meal for me, however, is very quick and very simple.  Like toast.

Dislike #4: Feeling unappreciated

This is a big one with me.  I went to a seminar once that discussed the different attitudes across generations – from the Baby Boomers to the Millenials.  I was born at the tail end of Generation X, so I find that I have qualities of both Gen X and a Millenial.  One comment that really resonated with me at the seminar was that Gen X workers just quietly go about doing their job, knowing that no one really noticed or cared.  I had always thought that that was all in my head.  I work hard for the sake of working hard, and I never really expect any feedback.  If there is feedback, I always think it’s going to be negative.  So it all leaves me feeling like you could pluck me out of people’s lives and they won’t really notice.  Yes, I know it’s very irrational.  Those that know me well know that I’m a font of irrational thoughts.

Dislike #5: Too much frickin’ email!!

That’s just one of my email accounts.  That’s 254 emails I haven’t gotten around to reading yet.  A huge chunk of that is made up of eyecare journals and LinkedIn messages; it’s the stuff that I’ll read while I’m waiting for the damn bus.  For those of you who wonder why it takes me a few days to get back to you…it’s because your email is probably hiding in among all the crap.  I don’t think this particular email account has had zero unread messages since I started my new job last summer.

Dislike #6: Cat poop

Cleaning out the cats’ litter box is my least favourite chore ever (and I really, really, really hate chores).  Enough said.

Dislike #7: Running out of yarn in the middle of a crochet project

Well, I suppose I could actually say “running out of supplies in the middle of any type of project”.  I’m typing this as a look over at a wrap that I started last year but ran out of yarn.  I bought more about 2 months ago, but the dye lot doesn’t quite match so I’m still trying to figure out how to salvage this whole project.  I have so many of these little projects that are hanging around my den, waiting for me to get my act together to get the supplies and finish them already.

Dislike #8: Getting up in the morning

I’m a night owl.  It’s 11:42 pm right now, and I’m wide awake.  I can easily stay up until 1 or 2 in the morning, most of the time.  But, I definitely pay for it the next morning.  I’m horrible at getting up on time.  I’m the queen of hitting the snooze button 20 times on both my phone and my alarm clock.  Then I lie there in bed considering just how much longer can I hold off on getting up before I’ll be so late that I’ll miss my bus.  On the plus side, I’m really good at getting ready for work quickly!

Dislike #9: Being too warm

I’m one of those people who would rather be slightly cold versus slightly hot.  Which explains why my place is usually on the cool side.  It also explains why I get a bit short-tempered when I travel to hot climates for my volunteer work.  And it explains why I’m constantly complaining about my exam room being too hot.  In all the years that I’ve worked in optometry clinics, I’ve always found the exam rooms too warm.  I think it’s because they’re such small rooms, and the door is closed 90% of the time.  It’s a bit of a joke at the clinic that while everyone else is wearing long-sleeved tops and sweaters, I’m running around in short-sleeved tops and dresses.

Dislike #10: Farmville

Okay, so it’s more like a love-hate relationship.  I admit I play Farmville.  It’s silly, but it’s a fun time-waster.  Ever since Zynga put in all these stupid quests, it has become less of a game and more of a chore.  Particularly because the quests involve begging fellow players to send you items.  I’ve thought several times about just quitting altogether, but I’ve been playing for a few years.  I hate the thought of simply deleting all the time and effort I put into this.  Is it a bad sign when you get somewhat emotionally attached to a game?

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2012.

0 Responses to “Day 2 (part 2) – 10 dislikes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

