01
Feb
12

Day 2 (part 1) – 10 likes

This seems pretty easy.  Watch me get all wordy though 🙂  (Oh, this is no particular order.)  Edit: I took me an hour and a half to do my 10 likes; there is no way I’m doing 10 dislikes tonight!

Like #1: Wendell, my pink and blue pig

Wendell was a Christmas gift from C, a fellow Shutterkin.  I think he’s supposed to be a Christmas tree ornament, but he’s too fun to hide in a box in a storage locker for most of the year.  He hangs out by my computer desk and chills.  Yes it’s goofy but I’ve learned that you have to embrace some silliness in life.

Like #2: Photography

Photography was one of the main things I wanted to showcase in this blog.  But life seems to have gotten in the way, and I haven’t been doing much with my camera since September.  I have some photos from a trip to Las Vegas that I haven’t really done anything with yet.  I carried my camera with me to a seminar in Chicago only to find out that I forgot the battery at home in the charger!  Gotta work on getting back into this.

Like #3: Crochet

I learned how to crochet when I was in university.  It was a fad that went through my residence at the time.  I dropped it for a number of years, then rediscovered it within the last 2-3 years.  It’s fun; I like seeing what I come up with using just yarn and a hook.  Right now I’m helping crochet hats for Rylan’s Hats for Babies.  I’m having a hard time believing there are babies small enough for these hats!

Like #4: Hand lotion

I’m a bit of a hand lotion addict.  I wash my hands a lot at work, so consequently my hands are always dry.  I’m always on the lookout for lotion that feels nice, doesn’t leave a greasy feel and smells good.  So far my favourites are L’Occitane’s Shea Hand Cream and Bliss’ High Intensity Hand Cream.  The problem is that I have lotion containers in my drawer at work, in my purse, on my bedstand, in my bathroom, on my computer desk, in the kitchen…and I don’t seem to ever remember to use them!

Like #5: Flying

I know many people who do not like to fly at all.  I, on the other hand, have always enjoyed flying because it means I’m traveling to somewhere different from here.  And it offers an awesome perspective for photography!  By the way, the best safety demonstration I have ever witnessed was on a WestJet flight where the entire dialogue was done as a Dr. Seuss rhyme 🙂

Like #6: My iPad2

I’m a geek. I fully admit it.  And I really, really like having new toys to play with.  My iPad saga began when I won an iPad at a seminar.  I wanted an iPad2 so I sold the iPad and started saving to get what I really wanted.  My brother works for Apple so I was also waiting for the time when he would be allowed to offer a family discount.  Then I changed jobs last summer, and I was able to use the vacation pay from my previous job along with the money from the sale to get my iPad2.  So, technically, in a round about way, I still got an iPad for free!

Like #7: Red

If you didn’t read yesterday’s post, I’ll say it again.  My favourite colour is red.  And not that orangey kind of red, nor that pinkish kind of red.  I mean scarlet and burgundy and garnet kind of reds.  If I’m shopping for clothes and shoes, I’m always drawn to red.  If there’s a choice in colour for a teapot or pillow or camera, I’ll invariably go for red if it’s a option.  Red means prosperity and joy in Chinese culture.  It apparently increases the rate of respiration and raises blood pressure. It also says online that red makes you stand out and inspires confidence.  I’m not sure about any of that; all I know is that I really like red.

Like #8: Teaching

Now this is one that I didn’t think would happen.  If you had told me 3 years ago that I would take on a job teaching students, I would have laughed at the joke.  It turns out, however, that I’m finding a real passion in this.  I guess I’ve always like helping other people learn how to do things.  It’s why I seemed to be the right person to train new staff or explain things to patients.  Teaching someone one-on-one is WAY different than teaching a class of 35 students though.  I’m finding that, as nervous as I always get before a lecture or lesson, I’m energized by the fact that I’m passing on knowledge and skills to other people.  (But I still don’t think I could handle teaching on a full-time basis.)

Like #9: My cats

LOL! That might be only a partial truth.  I like my cats when they’re not destroying my couch or waking me up in the middle of the night.  I like Little Miss Autumn (the grey one) when she curls up by my head at night to go to sleep.  I like Sir Spotacus the Lazy (the white and orange one) when he greets me at the door when I come home from work.  They’re great companions…when I like them 🙂

Like #10: Making things

Whether it’s making greeting cards or jewelry or cookies or Ikea furniture, I like making things.  I find it really fun to build something from itty bitty pieces to a whole, or to create something from scratch.  I’m super detail oriented too so it’s not just making something but making it correctly.  Which means that some of my projects sit for a while when I think that I’m not doing it right.  I have an unfinished cross stitch project that I started in high school!  All because I don’t like the placement of one of the images.  And don’t get me started on unfinished crochet projects…

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s installment of 10 dislikes (which will probably be just as long-winded as this post).

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2012.

1 Response to “Day 2 (part 1) – 10 likes”


  1. 1 Cindi
    2012/02/01 at 1:12 am

    So glad Wendell has a good home! Somehow I just knew he belonged to you. 😉


Leave a Reply

My tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 422 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

