17
Oct
11

Waiting, waiting, waiting

I’m so incredibly bored right now. I have to renew my passport, even though it doesn’t expire until May. All because of that stupid rule that your passport has to be valid for 6 months after your return date from an international trip. I’m going to Chicago from November 11 to 13; my passport expires May 12. How irritating is that?

So here I am sitting with about 80 other people who weren’t smart enough to come here at 7:30 AM and avoid a long wait. I should have known better. 4 1/2 years ago when I was here, the new law was coming into effect that required a passport for travel to the US. It took me literally all day to get the process going. But I remember seeing more interesting people last time(and a really cute guy that was sitting right across from me!) People watching just isn’t as fun this time. At least I have my iPad to keep me entertained.  This is the first blog post that I’ve done through the wordpress app.  I suck at typing on this thing, so I probably look a little ridiculous.  And I’ll probably look even more ridiculous when I lift this up to take a picture.

20111017-135714.jpg

At last! In the 350s. I’m F355 so maybe I’ll get going soon 🙂  Anyway, the highlight here is the security guard who’s been cracking deadpan jokes for the poor saps standing in line.  He told one woman who asked when the office opens to make sure she wasn’t late because he didn’t want to open the office alone.  He gets lonely he says!  He told someone in line who asked how long the wait would be that he would be going home long before we would get served.  I like people who can make the best of their jobs.  He could be totally sour and crabby with all the crap he has to put up with, but instead he does what he can to make light of the situation.  I need to remember that.

Oh, I’m up next!

Addendum: ARGH!!!! The gentleman who processed my application told me that the 6 month rule doesn’t apply within North America because of NAFTA.  Since I usually travel overseas, it didn’t even occur to me to check.  So let’s see…I wasted 30 minutes filling out the application, 30 minutes going to the store to get more toner for my printer, 30 minutes getting my photo taken, 15 minutes to walk to Sinclair Centre, and 2 1/2 hours waiting for my turn.

So I’m about $120 poorer and all I have is a voided passport to show for it.  Hope I don’t have to leave the country in the next 2 weeks!  And I paid $10 for the privilege of going to pick up my passport on Halloween.  Sigh.

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2011.

1 Response to “Waiting, waiting, waiting”


  1. 2011/10/22 at 12:42 am

    I laughed at your misfortune… Sorry! It was good middle of the night feed reading! I thought I was subscribed to your blog, but apparently not… Glad you “liked” my post because it led me back here!


Leave a Reply

My tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 422 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

