01
Oct
10

Fun at the Farmers’ Market

While I was at UBC today, I noticed a farmers’ market going on just outside the Student Union Building. Apparently today was the last day for the weekly market. Too bad. I had a lot of fun looking at all the fresh produce, handmade soaps, local honey and even the people milling about. It’s such a different experience from getting what you need from a grocery store. From the guy who talked about his 4 acres of farmland in Abbotsford to the guy whose signs read “Happy Mr. Beans $2” and “Sweet baby carrots. Trust me. They’re yummy!”, I saw the fun that can be had at a farmers’ market. (This coming from someone who sees grocery shopping as a dreaded chore.)

Mmmmm….look at that yummy deliciousness! I got the kale and corn from the Arkesteyn-Vogler Family Farm. That’s the farm in Abbotsford.  The beans and carrots (yes, I fell for the quirky signs!) came from Natural Village.  The Honey-Crisp apples came from Golden West Farms.  I also got a bar of jasmine soap from The Other Eden.

I love carrots. I will probably just eat these beauties raw.  The kale has me a little puzzled. I had kale for the first time a few months ago when Brazil Day was on Granville St. I really enjoyed it. But I’m not entirely sure how I’m supposed to cook this stuff. If anyone has any suggestions before I check out allrecipes.com, please let me know.

I had never tasted Honey-crisp apples until today. My favourites are Gala and Ambrosia for their sweetness, but they both tend to be rather mushy. Honey-crisps give me that sweetness I love and the crispness when I bite down that I had been missing in my favourites. Happy Mr. Beans will probably be stir-fried. Actually, I would love to know the recipe for the amazing chili green beans you can get at Chinese restaurants.  I don’t normally cook corn for myself, but these ears were only 75 cents each and I developed a craving for them while I was waiting to pick up the kale.

So, the lesson for today (other than my history class on the Paris Peace Conference of 1919) was that I should really make an effort to check out the local farmers’ markets. I mean, if I’m such a strong supporter of local craft fairs like I said in my last blog, then I should take the next step up and support local food suppliers.

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2010.

0 Responses to “Fun at the Farmers’ Market”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

