04
Apr
12

The Tea Saga

I love tea.  I really love flavoured tea.  For many years, I stuck to Red Rose and thought that everything else was just weird.  Then, my sister-in-law introduced me to Davids Tea.  After trying their Coco Chai Rooibos, I was hooked. I now have an entire area of my kitchen dedicated to tea.

Tea up on the wall

Tea down on the counter


I buy most of my tea locally at Davids Tea, The Secret Garden Tea Company, or Après Midi Teahouse.  Once in a while I find tea while I’m traveling.  Silk Road in Victoria, BC and Cuppa T in Regina, SK come to mind.  I don’t know if I’ll ever get through my tea stash because I always seem to find more that I “need” to have.

Sometimes I do buy tea online.  I took advantage of a SwarmJam deal to try out Shanti Tea about a year ago.  I still haven’t tasted everything from that sampler pack.

Anyway, this is the story of me and 52teas.com.

Way back on Boxing Day 2011, I was browsing around on Steepster.  I found out about Frank and his flavoured teas.  He has some of the most imaginative flavours I have ever seen: maple & brown sugar oatmeal, buttered popcorn, lime jello salad, pancake breakfast.  He even has chocolate bacon, and jalapeno!  So being curious after reading all these awesome reviews of his teas, I placed an order to try some of this yummy deliciousness myself.  Frank is in Kansas; knowing what Canada Customs can be like when it comes to mail, I expected that it was going to take a while.

By the beginning of February, I was getting a bit concerned.  I email Frank and we agreed to wait a little longer to see if the package would arrive.  Then I forgot about it for a while.  Mid-March I emailed again to say that my tea was probably lost in customs limbo.  Frank very generously sent me a replacement order at no charge, even though I offered to pay for the shipping.

So what do I find on my desk at work this morning?  Two packages from 52teas.com.  Yes.  TWO packages!  Stupid Canada Post.  We also got a Christmas card in the mail from one of our suppliers.

This kind of makes me think of those candy vending machines.  You know…if your candy bar doesn’t come out of the coil properly, you have to wait for someone else to buy the same candy bar so that it pushes the first one out as well.  Or you shake the machine trying to force it to drop.

So now I have lot of tea to keep me happy for the next little while :-)

I’m sure the tea is going to be wonderful, but even without tasting it, I highly recommend Frank and 52teas.com for excellent customer service.  I think each and every one of you should go to his website and take a look at what’s available.  He makes blends in small batches so he sells out quickly of popular flavours.  Oh, 52teas comes from the fact that Frank has a tea of the week and a tea of the month club.  You should check that out too.

© All rights reserved, missmylin 2012.

Leave a Reply

My tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Copyright Notice

© Myra Madrilejos, missmylin and "itaga sa bato", 2010 to present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author/owner is strictly prohibited. All photography on this blog is copyright protected. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Myra Madrilejos and itaga sa bato with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers

